Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

And the journey begins…

I decided to lose weight, not because I’m overweight (in my humble opinion), but because I want to mold a leaner, sexier version of my current physique.  Some may describe me as voluptuous with an hour-glass figure. That sounds fantastic, right? Sure thing.  But two babies later… well, it was inevitable. I need to get back to my old body by any means necessary! I think I may actually challenge myself and get into the best shape I’ve ever been.

This isn’t my first dance with weight loss. After the birth of my first child, I released 20lbs …and good riddance! I’m back at the place where I need to let go of 20lbs again but this time, I need to lose at least that plus whatever will get me into a size 8.  Now, I’ve been a size 10 for as long as I can remember, so a size 8 is an unfamiliar territory which I am willing to venture. Just because I can 🙂

Back in 2008, after lots of research, I used Nutrisystem as my preferred weight loss tool. It worked, it was fun and the results were terrific – and I kept the weight off until I got pregnant again. So, no need to re-invent the wheel here. I have a goal and I will do what I need to do in order to lose the weight and maintain my desired jean size. Let’s hope I can do this in four to six months so I can be fabulous for my 34th birthday in August ;-).

I plan to start Nutrisystem on February 1, 2010 which is a Monday (what great timing!). I placed the order today, so lets hope its delivered in time. While I await my shipment, I will discuss in my next blog, what changes I will be making to my diet and the challenges of exercise! I have learned that my body reacts more to a change in diet more so than exercise (thankfully!), however working out is an important part of my transformation so I’m going to do my very best and stick with it.

I will also be taking pictures of my meals for those who are not familiar with Nutrisystem’s meal choices, as well as pictures of my own healthy creations every now and again. I love to cook, I love to eat, and I love to take photographs.

So there you have it. This is going to be FUN!

January 20, 2010 - Posted by | Weight Loss

3 Comments »

  1. Morning Lynda,

    This is a great idea. Well I wish you good luck & I know you can do it. I will be here to cheer you on until I’m able to start working out again.

    Talk you you soon!

    Comment by Nikki | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. Wonderful! I’ll be here watching this journey and would love to join. I’ve always said I would use Nutrisystem as a weight loss system based solely on the ads I see on cable … Now I have a real life testimonial that it works!

    The weight loss journey is so different for many people … my body usually responds better to a change in exercise rather than diet so this should be interesting. I started my exercise regimen while I was off on vacation – it entailed 45 minute walks in the park, with Ipod plugged in, I did 10+ laps and felt great doing it. I’ve thrown in a little tennis in the mix and also did a Turbo Jam Fat Blaster workout, a 30 minute work out that gets your heart going.

    One of the things I lack is true support so having you go through this transformation at the same time I’m trying to will be just great … we’ve gone through so many things together as friends, including having 2 kids. This will just be one more thing to add to it!

    So, my friend, February 1, 2010 is the beginning of the transformation to the “new me”. My aim is to lose 50 lbs in 6 months … that should take me to a size 14 or so. That will be a great start! So … LET’S GO!!

    Comment by CoolDestiny | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. @Nikki – thank you so much! Join me as soon as you can. But please don’t wait until you are able to exercise. You can start by making little changes to your diet. Trust me!

    @CD – Welcome aboard! Yes, Nutrisystem works as long as you stick to it and realize that portion control is key! I can’t wait to see what Hip Hop Abs has to offer. Perhaps I should look into the Turbo Jam Fat Blaster and compare. Girl, you know I just wanna dance! LOL! And I certainly do agree, this will be yet another experience for us to share. I’m so excited! You can do it!!!!!

    Comment by Lynda | January 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

