Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Preparing for change

Dietary adjustment

Preparing yourself mentally for a lifestyle change is a challenge within itself. Essentially, you have to expel old habits and replace them with new ones.  I find that I’m very set in my ways when it comes to certain things and it can be difficult to stop doing something you’ve done all your life. Even to substitute something “not so good” for something “good” was incredibly hard – almost to the point of tears (yes, you read correctly). Giving up sugar left me lost. Butter… I simply refused to give it up. I just stuck to the “light” version and that was it. Here are some of the things that I’ve given up and what I used to replace it:

  • White Rice – Basmati Rice or Brown Rice (Brown rice is an acquired taste/texture)
  • Pasta – Multigrain pasta
  • Bread – Whole wheat or Multigrain breads
  • Flour – Okay so here’s the deal. I tried baking with just whole wheat flour and it was too heavy. So what I do now is compromise. 70% all-purpose unbleached, 30% whole wheat flour. Or whatever’s clever.
  • 2% Milk – I used 0% Fat Free Milk while I was on Nutrisystem previously (started out with Soy Milk but it was too expensive and I really didn’t like it). The fat-free milk is just temporary for me. Something just sounds wrong with that! You need some of that good fat.
  • Granulated Sugar – Stevia (This saved my life – unsweetened tea is the worst). It’s expensive but well worth it.
  • Vegetable Oil – Olive Oil (except for baking)
  • Iceberg Lettuce – Romaine Lettuce or any dark green leafy combination
  • Ground Beef – Ground Turkey. Tastes better and is easier to digest.
  • Fruit Juices – I buy reduced calorie juices and then dilute them 1/3rd water, 2/3rd juice. Since I lost the weight, juices never tasted the same to me again. They are all too sweet for me now. And that sounds strange considering I have a sweet tooth.
  • I have a problem with chocolate (Dark chocolate mostly), especially since my last pregnancy and  have not found a calorie conscious alternative as yet. I’ve decided to quit cold turkey. But I still get the shakes whenever I walk past the candy section of the grocery store.

While on Nutrisystem, certain meals require that you add a whole grain pita, whole grain burger bun, or even a whole grain hot dog bun! So while on the program, the only thing I need to be concerned with really is the milk and Stevia as they always need to be on hand.

The challenge of exercise

I never liked the idea of sweating. I didn’t like that after work-out pain – the “good” pain that you’re supposed to feel good about. The sweat left on the seats of the bikes and leg press. Not to mention the old guy staring at my butt. So, I’m probably never going back to a gym again. I must mention though, I am only able to do low impact cardio due to an ongoing health condition. I have however, developed an appreciation for walking. Yes, I quite enjoy it and I walked about 30mins for 3 days per week while I was on Nutrisystem before. I also used my Bowflex and did low impact routines. I believe the combination of the two definitely took inches from all over. I sourced a treadmill from a relative with the intention of increasing my weekly walking sessions during these winter months. I don’t have it in my possession yet, but I’ll definitely blog about it when I get it. I’m actually excited about the treadmill. I’ve always wanted one – you know, like a trophy!

That’s all for now. I have lots more to blog about before January 3 1, 2010. After that, it’s all about focus.

Stoked. 🙂

January 23, 2010 - Posted by | Weight Loss

2 Comments »

  1. Wow! Kudos to you! As you said, this journey will take committment and a lot of discipline. For me, another sweet tooth sister, and for someone who has struggled with weight for a long time, I have found and grown to believe that the key to weight loss is moderation in diet, smaller portions and not necessarily giving up EVERYTHING that you like … so, don’t sweat it if you don’t find that dark chocolate alternative 🙂

    Some changes I’ve made are:
    – Switching to water (thank God for the cranberry kind) – no more juices on a daily basis.
    – About to change to whole wheat flour (good for me I was never a dumplin’ lover)
    – I read that extra virgin Coconut oil is the best … haven’t quite made it to extra virgin yet but getting there. Staying healthy can be quite expensive
    – Reduced red meat intake(oxtail once a month is killing me!!!)
    – Increased intake of nuts and grains – excellent source of protein and nutrience
    – Do regular cleanses to detox the body
    – Increased vitamin supplements – Omega 3, Vitamin C, Vitamin E

    Comment by CoolDestiny | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. I totally agree – everything in moderation. And I soooooo hear you about smaller portions. Somehow we ended up eating way more than is necessary in one sitting. For example – I’m a lover of cereal, and I used to have my servings in a large bowl. I’ve learned that we always need to pay attention to the recommended portion size as well as the nutritional data provided on every food item that we buy. If its not provided, I won’t buy it. We need to be conscious of what we are consuming!

    Great changes! Especially with water (I really don’t care for water) but please, take note of the sweeteners that are used. I’m going to have to look for something to flavour my water also. Its funny you mentioned vitamins – I’m doing a blog about that JUST NOW! LOL! It’ll be short and sweet.

    Comment by Lynda | January 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

