Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Food for thought

Today I had my first encounter with my brand new, second-hand treadmill. I truly believe this is the beginning of a love hate relationship. And I only feel this way because its my first day. I’m sure we’ll get along just fine. I had originally planned to go for a 10 minute walk this week – you know, to get into the groove. But after 10 minutes, I was like… this isn’t too bad, let’s go for another 10. Silly me, I had it on a preset routine that nearly ran me off the belt! So after a few expletives and a moment to get  myself together, I decided to use the full manual function until I’m ready to move on. I’m very tired now and I can feel the pain that I dreaded creeping up on me. I will not be discouraged though. I’ve got my eye on the prize.

So anyway, I was speaking with my BFF earlier and she got me thinking about something. How else would I have done this weight loss adventure if I was a working mom or I just wanted to do it the “normal” way? I must admit, its easy the way I’m doing it now. I’m home on maternity leave for a year at the very least. All I have to do is throw a salad together for lunch, steam some veggies in the evening and pour a variety of beverages during the course of the day. Plus, the variety keeps me interested. I do cook for my family so I get my protein from meals that I’d be making anyway. Everything else is provided. It offers the structure that I need in a very busy lifestyle where I would miss meals and/or eat more than I need to in one sitting. Essentially, it tells me what to do in order to succeed.

Since I will only be on Nutrisystem for 2-3 months, I will need to continue my developing habit of structured meals and healthy food choices. I did some research and I found a meal plan that is very similar to what I’m doing right now (there are tons of them out there to choose from). Of course I’d have to tweak it to my delight (and also according to the Glycemic Index), but it’s very close to my current plan. I thought I’d share it (I’m gonna need it soon).

Here it is:

Chatelaine – Slim down for summer meal plan

I could have Wednesday’s dinner every night!

The fundamentals of weight loss: In order to lose weight, you must first determine your current caloric intake and then reduce it so that weight can be lost over a period of time in a healthy manner. Weight loss is possible by changing your diet and/or regular exercise. Weight must be lost gradually and safely (2lbs per week is recommended) in order to avoid the weight coming back with a vengeance!

Ciao for now!

February 2, 2010 - Posted by | Weight Loss

8 Comments »

  1. Go Lynda! What you need is a soundtrack before you step in the ring with the treadmill, download the Rocky theme for inspiration.

    http://gallery.mobile9.com/f/57751/

    Comment by Bobby | February 3, 2010 | Reply

    • You are so cute Bobby! Yes, that would be the real deal to have that theme in my head before I start my walk out. 🙂

      Comment by Lynda | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. Well, I really do wish you good luck with the treadmill. Personally, I hate running all together, but whenever I had to I would prefer not using a treadmill as I found that after a while the impact was hard on my knees. Keep us posted, and hope you will grow to like it and have a better experience with it.

    Bless,
    Phoenix

    Comment by Phoenix | February 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Phoenix. Walking is the main cardio that I am able to manage due to my chronic pain and I enjoyed it as a part of my program. Granted I was walking outdoors since it was in the spring. I did some research prior to acquiring this treadmill and learned that manual treadmills can be extremely hard on the knees and for some, even the hips. The motorized treadmill was my best bet as I only have plans for walking. I dont like running either 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Comment by Lynda | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  3. Walking can be great cardio but if you’re not outside, get the tunes going and give your brain something to do. Like planning your next day, gathering your thoughts for your next blog entry or maybe just use this time to clear your head. Whatever you do, don’t let it get boring or feel like work. Go at it hard enough and your workout may release those feel good endorphins and that will help too…

    Comment by OUTAmany | February 5, 2010 | Reply

    • OUTAmany, I totally agree. Staring at a bare wall wont keep me happy for long. I will certainly need audio but perhaps visual stimulation too. Walking outdoors gives you plenty to see so I will definitely have to work something out. I think I have some ideas rumbling through my busy mind. Will keep you informed.

      Comment by Lynda | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  4. I wish I could get a treadmill and actually use it for something other than storing clothes 🙂 … 2 thumbs up for Lynda. A treadmill is great with the tunes or your favourite TV show to keep you going. The combination of walking outside, the fresh air, the sounds of nature … .give me the great outdoors anyday. As for running, you know the size of my boobs so we won’t even go there!

    Love your Meez avatar btw … very cool!

    Comment by CoolDestiny | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. CD outdoor walking is ideal, but until spring gets here… I’m staying put! Its gotta be at least 15 degrees celcius to get my dainty self outside :-). LOL! Yes, as for the boobage situation, we definitely wont go there! Too funny! 🙂 mwaahahahaaaa!

    Comment by Lynda | February 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

