Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Week 1 Summary

It’s been a week and this is my first weigh-in since the start of my adventure. I’ve stuck to my meal plan fairly well. I missed a meal due to a dinner engagement and I threw a meal out because it was utterly gross and I feel no remorse whatsoever! So long, Chicken Tortilla Soup! I simply replaced it with a healthy alternative that I had prepared for my family – chicken breast with okra! Sweet!

I managed to do 3 sessions of 20 minute walks on the treadmill last week. I am still feeling sore but that should pass as I continue to walk. Today was my first time walking for 30 minutes and I will continue to increase my time weekly until I am able to walk for an hour, at least 3 days per week.

I was feeling a bit light headed and weak last week, so I decided to ask a pharmacist about any supplements that may help me. She recommended B-50 Complex as well as B-12. Great. More pills to pop. I believe that what I am going through is due to the reduction in calories (especially carbs) as well as the increased physical activity. I also have to TRY to get more sleep (not sure how I’m going to accomplish this). I will monitor the situation and see what adjustments need to be made, if any.

Drum roll…. today’s weight is 160lbs and I’ve lost 0.5 inches from my waist. I am quite pleased, even if it’s just with the way I eat (5 meals) and the fact that I’m actually consuming vegetables and enjoying it!

Here are pictures of today’s lunch and dinner:

Today’s Meals

  • Breakfast: NS Sweetened O’s Cereal, 2 Veggie Patties, 1 slice whole grain toast, 1 Banana, Green Tea
  • Lunch: NS Split Pea Soup, Baked Salmon,  Romaine Salad Blend, Water
  • Snack: Chocolate Soy Milk, 1 Orange
  • Dinner: NS Rotini with Meatballs and Tomato Sauce, Steamed Bok Choy with Carrots and Okra, 12 Cherries
  • Dessert: NS Carrot Cake, Green Tea

Week ONE complete!

February 8, 2010 - Posted by | Weight Loss

6 Comments »

  1. Great job Lyn! Mi well proud a you. I did pretty good myself except for Sunday when I had “fry up breakfast” with the hubby. No worries here though cause I have given him ample notice that this shall be his last for a while. I am trying to get him on the waggon too. I was able to easily skip the sugar and I am trying hard to drink more water. I am aiming for at least 2 litre in a day. I must tell you that I am a tad bit…Um…ritualistic so I tend to eat the same thing over and over. Breakfast 3/4 cup Oatmeal with skimmed milk amd raisins (uncooked). The Oatmeal keeps me full all morning. I skip lunch at work(bad…I know…but I forfeit lunch so I can leave work an hour earlier.) Around 3:30pm I have a bowl of cabbage soup and later dinner around 5pm. I eat whatever I want for dinner taking the effort to forgo condiments such as ketchup, mayo, sauces and gravy. It is amazing how much calories we can eliminate by cutting out condiments. I continue to take my prenatal vitamins and will be eating out less. I plan to cook enough on the weekend to last for a few days in the weeks and will choose Island Grill or Scotches Jerk as an alternative to fast food…forgoing the festivals of course 🙂 Now that Aiden is eating fruits I now have healthier snack options…whooo hooo 🙂

    I am yet to work out an exercise plan because Andrew works so late and I am not up to taking Aiden out with me at nights when I walking. I love running and cant wait to tackle that hill in my complex. I may have to resort to weekends but until I get into a groove I do what I can at home…

    I have dropped 2lbs so far and I excited to see what else i’ve got.

    That lethargic feeling that you are experiencing Lyn will pass after the first week or two. You are right it is due to the decreased carbs but your body will adjust. Be sure to continue with your vitamins and steal a little sleep whenever you can.

    Cant wait for us to bump fit bodies.

    Hugs fi all a unno.

    Comment by Nicky | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks darling, I’m so glad we are doing this together. Hey I’m the same way when it comes to breakfast – I like to keep it simple. I could have cereal or eggs or a sandwhich every day. As long as there’s bread involved, I’m good!!!! Wait a minute… did you say cabbage soup???? I’m not sure about that – you’ll have to tell me about that one.

      Congrats on the 2lbs! Cheers to being yummilicious mommies!

      Comment by Lynda | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. WTG, mama!!!

    Yes, that B-12 will rev up your metabolism, keep you energized, and is excellent for keeping that heart healthy. The B-50 vites work along with the B-12 to build red blood cells and I know they’re great for keeping the hair and skin looking great (not that you need that).

    Great Job, Lyn!

    Comment by Shel | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Shel! I really do hope these B vitamins help with my hair because I’m suffering from post-partum hair loss 😦 I had it after my first pregnancy and I surely had a conniption but this time… I dunno. Its just depressing wondering if you’re going BALD (yes, I continue to be dramatic).

      But here’s to B Vitamins! Cheers!

      Comment by Lynda | February 9, 2010 | Reply

  3. Yes Lyn, ur movin’ on da right track and you can’t turn back… 🙂

    Good to see you are tracking you success in not just pounds but also inches. Seeing all the numbers change will help keep you motivated. It is also good that you didn’t prevent yourself from going out with friends for a bite to eat. This is a lifestyle change, not a jail sentence. You have to be able to continue living or you won’t be able to maintain it.

    Well done…

    Comment by OUTAmany | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • YES OUTAmany! The waistline is just as important! And absolutely, I need to feel like I’m in control otherwise this wont last long. I’ll surely rebel! 🙂 And you know how I feel about chocolate!

      Comment by Lynda | February 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

