Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Week 9 Summary

Its been a great week. The weather has been absolutely perfect – a lovely way to kick off  spring! On the eve of Good Friday, I decided that I was going to go meat-free for the holiday weekend (Friday to Sunday). I wasn’t sure if I could do it because I can’t recall going a day in life without at least chicken. But I did some research, and made sure that I was getting adequate nutrients from whatever meals I would be eating. I also realized that for me to do something like this, spur of the moment, I had to think quickly and ensure that I had the proper food available. Also, I had to be very aware of my decision and remind myself NOT to have meat.

The highlight of my weekend was my first Vegetarian meal (which I modified slightly because I didn’t have the exact ingredients). The original recipe was “Corn & Green Bean Filled Baked Sweet Potato”. In the recipe book, it looked simple, yet elegant. I’ll call my creation “Corn, Lima Bean and Okra Filled Baked Sweet Potato”. Bake the sweet potato, stir the corn, Lima beans and okra in a balsamic vinegar and olive oil blend. Presto! My version looked quite rustic and earthy. But I enjoyed every last bite (to my surprise). The sweet, smooth, buttery sweet potato and the hint of vinegar did wonders for my palette. And that’s when I realized that I CAN do this and have meat only a few days per week.

I’ll keep researching in order to find more appetizing vegetarian recipes to experiment with 🙂 .

This morning’s weight was 149lbs. To date, I’ve lost a total of 12lbs. Slowly but surely, I’ll get there. Really slow…

April 5, 2010 - Posted by | Healthy Meals

4 Comments »

  1. Wow! Your first vegan meal! Girl, I have a new respect for you! That is a bold step and I’m proud of you for stepping out of your comfort zone. Now that you’ve tried it, and it wasn’t half bad, the possibilitied are endless! Go Lynda! Go Lynda! 🙂

    Comment by CoolDestiny | April 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes CD, my very first and it most definitely won’t be the last. More to come!!! 🙂

      Comment by Lynda | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. Keep going mi fren. I slacked for a weekend saw I gained 2 lbs and said nah man back on the the truck man. Like the veggie recipe still

    Comment by Daddy Mackfred | April 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Don’t be worried about the weight fluctuations. A pound here and there isn’t so bad. I break the dieting rule all the time by weighing often – too often – and honestly, there are days when I just don’t see how the scale could be accurate!!! But what matters is the Monday morning when I step on the scale. The truth is revealed. Its good though that you pull back the reigns to regain control. Keep on doing your thing Daddy Mack! (LOL!) Its a long process but its all for the greater good.

      Comment by Lynda | April 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

