Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Happy moments in the kitchen

I’m a foodie. I always have been. Ever since I figured out how to cook, I’ve only gotten better and better. Too bad my audience is rather limited (for feedback). But I’m always working on my culinary skills and trying new recipes. Last night, I was in the mood to do something new. So I  grabbed one of my many cooking magazines, and picked a dinner item that was light, easy and healthy. I prepared grilled salmon on a bed of baby spinach, arugula, baby cucumbers, and avocado with a splash of Honey Dijon vinaigrette . As always, a slight variation to the orignal recipe, but I use what I have on hand. I guess it’s a bit green. Some cherry tomatoes would have been the perfect addition but alas, I think tomatoes are gross.

I have been promising my husband for weeks now that I would make him a banana bread. I have frozen bananas overflowing from the freezer so I’m going to have to use them up. I made a banana bread using the recipe that I’ve been using for a few years now. I always try to make healthy, guilt free versions of certain baked items. This particular recipe uses yogurt as the binding agent (i.e., no eggs were used). It also called for whole wheat flour. I will tell you this – whole wheat flour is heavy as lead. Too heavy for my personal taste, so I usually mix it with regular flour. I used half cup whole wheat flour and one cup all-purpose. Since I felt to do something out of the norm, I added a tablespoon of molasses and dark chocolate chips. I’ve baked a full fat cake using molasses before and it gave the cake such a rich colour and a nice taste too, so I thought I’d try it with this recipe. Not too bad if I may say so myself.

April 7, 2010 - Posted by | Healthy Meals |

2 Comments »

  1. You can experiment with me all you want when you come home. As probably one of your first “cooking” teachers, I believe it is time I receive my just reward 🙂 … Please send me the banana cake recipe again as I deleted it in error.

    And tomatoes … I just love them!

    Comment by CoolDestiny | April 7, 2010 | Reply

    • You know I will! LOL! What did you teach me again…? How to cook rice? You know my memory is like mush. I will search my emails and forward the Banana Bread recipe to you again. I will save all my tomatoes for you, love!

      Comment by Lynda | April 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

