Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Bullet! Bullet!

I got myself an amazing little gadget called the Magic Bullet Single Shot (It’s the smaller version of the Magic Bullet infomercials you see on late night TV). I’m really happy with it and also impressed with the variety of recipes that can be prepared with this little mixing monster. I’m sure a regular blender could be used but they are so big for the small portions that I prepare.

I really like Hummus and I’ve always bought the ready-made one in the grocery store. But last week, I didn’t see it on the shelf so I decided to make it myself! It’s a really tasty and healthy snack and can be modified to please everybody’s unique taste. Me being a plane Jane sort of gal when it comes to food – I keep it clean and simple. Hummus can be served as a dip with raw veggies, warm pita bread or as a spread with a few crackers (that’s how I like it). Hummus is also best served cold.

Fat-Free Hummus

¼ Cup Fat-free, low sodium chicken (or vegetable) broth

1 Cup Chick Peas (Garbanzo Beans)

1 ½ tsp Lemon Juice

2 Cloves Garlic

Sprinkle of Paprika

Salt and Pepper to taste

Add all ingredients except the paprika. (I included paprika in the mix – just my personal preference). Blend until smooth. Place in a bowl and refrigerate to enjoy later. Voila!

April 8, 2010 - Posted by | Healthy Meals, Weight Loss |

1 Comment »

  1. Never heard of Hummus before but it sounds and looks yummy!

    Comment by CoolDestiny | April 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

