Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Revival Time!

Its been a minute! I’ve had a rough couple of months when it came down to blogging and anything related to weight management. But I realized that although in general my life is busy, I still need to find time for me. There’s no real reason or excuse why I can’t, so the best thing to do is just DO. Everything will fall into place.

So this week, I’m going to tidy up my eating habits and get back on track. I’ve managed to maintain my weight nicely. I was worried that I was going to fall way off the wagon but in fact, I kept losing the weight even when not following a strictly monitored “diet”. It had just become second nature for me to eat sensibly. At one point, I actually saw 140lbs on the scale. Seriously! It didn’t last long though. I hit my lowest weight right before my daily routine got adjusted. I have proof! ———>>>>> 😀

Breakfast of CHAMPIONS

I must confess, I did have help. I had a lovely lady preparing my meals for me daily – leaving me very little choice but to eat right. She made sure I had a cooked breakfast almost every day, because otherwise I’d have toast or cereal which she didn’t approve of 🙂 She prepared my Quinoa, steamed my greens and made the BEST tilapia EVER. I had vegetarian options too which seemed quite popular among the locals, surprisingly. Ever heard of vegetarian curried goat? Whenever I find the stash that I brought back with me, I will post about it. Here’s what I had for breakfast most days – Green Banana, Boiled Cornmeal Dumplings, and Steamed Callalloo with a dash of Saltfish. Heavenly! Maybe the dumplings were questionable but it seems they didn’t sabotage my weight at all 🙂

I ate out only a few times per week (usually lunch) and scrutinized the menu intensely before placing an order. On the rare occasion, I had meals that I would have usually avoided but I was faced with the situation where it was either I ate nothing – or what was available. At other times, I just ate what I really missed having – Fried Fish & Festival, Barbequed Chicken from KFC and Popeyes Chicken. I enjoyed every bite 🙂

So now that I’ve moved into a new neighbourhood, I need to find the local health food stores and in general just know where to get certain foods that I usually have at hand. I’ve sourced Quinoa but I have yet to see Stevia anywhere so I’ve settled for Splenda for the time  being. I’m not resorting to sugar! I also have to get back into the kitchen! I love to cook and although it’s a challenge being in the kitchen with a toddler tugging at my feet, I remind myself often – I did it with one, I can do it with two 🙂

Back on track. Lets GO!

November 1, 2010 - Posted by | Weight Loss

4 Comments »

  1. You are such an inspiration! Proud of you … And I know you’ll keep it up and reach your goal!!

    Comment by cooldestiny | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yaaay for Lynda!Lets go. I did fell off the waggon and has seen my weight take a roller coaster ride. Not one of thoses scary monstrous ride but a rollercoaster nonthelest. Did I tell you I hate roller coasters?

    I have been between 128-132lbs …130lbs this morning… and I have seen a few fad diets come and go. My biggest issue I think is portion control. I hate seeing food go to waste so I end up cleaning my plate even when I full. I do know better and should do better. I will do better.

    The husband has bought the ipod and the pedometer so I see walking/running in my near future. Im excited to really start taking better care of myself.

    I am eyeing 125 and lean legs. BRING IT ON 🙂

    Goodluck Lyn.

    Comment by Nicky J | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. Ha! Yes…those dumplings would be quite questionable indeed. Anyhoo…good for you to be getting back on track. When you look good, you feel good.

    Only four months now since delivery for me, but since I have settled in my new destination another 5lbs disappeared bringing me to 152lbs from OVER 200lbs (100kg to be exact). Whew! Trying to get to about 135lbs or at least 140lbs considering muscle mass – that was my number last year before I was pregnant and I felt comfortable. Also once I can start a workout routine then I can tighten it all up too!

    So keep sending your stories that all mommies (and non-mommies) can unite and get the job done!

    Cheers!

    Phoenix

    Comment by Phoenix | November 3, 2010 | Reply

  4. @CD – Thanks girl. I’m very fortunate to have your love and support in…EVERYTHING I do.

    @Nicky J – The roller coaster diet ends here. Together we will find our goal weight and maintain it! I hear you about portion control tho for real. I have the same problem. I found eating out of smaller plates help a great deal.

    @Phoenix – How on earth did you shed so much weight (50lbs approx) in just 4 months? Share! Share! Share! I know post pregnancy weight tends to melt off but I would never have guessed so quickly. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by Lyn | November 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

