Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

The Master Cleanse Experience

After weeks of deliberation, I finally decided to do the Master Cleanse. To do something as “drastic” as this, it takes a lot of thought, research and time to prepare mentally. After speaking with 2 friends that have done MC at least twice, I embraced their experience and decided to go for it. I made up my mind that I will succeed however I won’t consider it a failure if I have to discontinue should urgent matters or complications arise. It’s not that serious 🙂

I scoured the internet for information and insight, all the while keeping in mind that this is information made available by a variety of plausible sources. There is so much information out there– good, bad and indifferent. At the end of the day, it is up to the individual to make a calculated decision based on their findings. A doctor’s approval is always recommended but since I was in fairly good health before (i.e. not on any medications, no life threatening conditions etc), I didn’t see the need. Persons with pre-existing conditions requiring prescribed medication should not take on such a cleanse. There are other ways to detox and/or lose weight.

There are pros and cons to this cleanse like you wouldn’t believe. However, this cleanse has been around for decades and so many people believe in it. People “fast” for many reasons – some for their religion, from what I’ve observed. Others do it based on the premise that cleanses rid the body of toxins. For me, this has turned out to be a period of introspection. There’s a lot that comes to mind when you are missing the most basic aspect of your physiology.

I thought about the chronic pain that I have suffered with for over 6 years now. I remember my Chiropractor advising me that sugar is a real enemy to chronic pain and that I should try to eliminate it from my diet if possible. In fact, she was the one who introduced me to Stevia. Being overweight doesn’t benefit chronic pain either. I thought about my own mortality and how best to make use of the blessing and privilege of being alive. (Seriously!) And ensuring that the people that I choose to have in my life are enhancing the experience of “life” and not taking away from it. (I may need to start another blog!).

I thought about the fact that some of my older family members suffer from Diabetes and Hypertension.  Weight can definitely play a role in bringing on these conditions. It may come to me anyway, but I’m not going to make it easy.

As the temperature drops and my muscles begin to ache, my motivation increases tenfold.

Just to be clear – I’m not doing this cleanse for the sole purpose of weight loss. I’ve demonstrated that I can achieve weight loss by two simple principles – Eat Less, Move More and just eat sensibly! And it works!  Sure, the fact that I will lose a few pounds is great BUT, I am not fooled about this. I expect to gain perhaps half of what I lose within a few days/weeks after I return to my normal eating regimen. Most of what I will lose is water and waste.

This has got to be one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. It’s like a self-imposed test of pure unadulterated WILL. I can understand why people start, and quit by day 3. I totally get it. It’s a challenge for me daily to resist putting food in my mouth. Bear in mind; I still have a home to run and mouths to feed. I handle food all day long for the kids. On the second day, I had an emotional moment when the snack that my son and I usually eat together, I prepared just for him. And of course he was encouraging me to “eat up, Mommy!”. Ugh! But my will was not shaken by this. I am determined to see this through. I understand the relationship we have with food. I hope that this experience will remind me how important it is to eat the right things and be conscious of what we use to nourish our bodies.

My tummy might be empty but I have so much to say. But enough of my hungry-belly-blabber for today. I will update again soon with the items I used to make the Master Cleanse fairly easy for me to do – pictures etc, followed by a summary of my experience.

FYI – I believe the main site for the Master Cleanse is http://mastercleansesecrets.com. There are countless others, though.

Ciao.

November 8, 2010 - Posted by | Weight Loss | ,

2 Comments »

  1. This post is spot on. The focus shouldn’t be just on losing weight but rather improving the way we live daily in terms of what we eat, what we do etc. The weight loss is really a bonus! Congrats hon. You are really inspiring me to do this .. As soon as I go on vacation (wink wink). I don’t recall going to that website so I’ll check it out.

    Comment by cooldestiny | November 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Wink, wink is right! I will repeat the advice I was given – “stay close to the bathroom” lol

      Comment by Lyn | November 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

