Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Back to a new normal

I took my time coming off the Master Cleanse because I read that if you have solids too quickly, it could cause pain and gastric distress. I wasn’t about to have any drama. The  first 2 days after the cleanse, I had mint tea first thing in the morning and last thing at night. Throughout both days, I had freshly squeezed orange juice. On the third day, I had a banana and a pear around the lunch hour, lots of water too. For dinner, I had carrot and sweet potato soup (I browned onion and garlic, added vegetable broth followed by chopped carrots and sweet potato and thyme. When cooked, I just used an immersion blender to thicken it all up). It went down well.

By day four, I upgraded dinner to a real meal. A meal I’ve never cooked before and it was so lovely 🙂 I had Parmesan Spinach Polenta served with Italian Sausage and Butter Maple Glazed Carrots. It was really nice however the small portion that I served for myself (in a saucer) seemed to be a bit too much and I felt slightly uncomfortable afterwards. And I didn’t have much of the Sausage either. I wasn’t trying to have much meat, never mind le hog.

 

Parmesan Spinach Polenta, Italian Sausage and Butter Maple Glazed Carrots

I think I’ve been bitten by the health food bug. I’m in love with my local health food store. They have EVERYTHING a health food freak could ever need. I found a variety of brands of organic honey, some coming all the way from Australia. Anyway, I’ve decided that if I’m going to use honey, it’s going to be unpasteurized. I also picked up some Agave Nectar since I wanted more options with regards to sweeteners.

I’ve decided to give a few new things a try. For example, I’m going to replace Cows Milk with Almond Milk, Whole Wheat Bread with Organic Spelt Bread etc. Here’s what I had for lunch today – Scottish Oatmeal with Almond Milk, sweetened with Agave Nectar and a slice of Organic Spelt Bread with BUTTER (not margarine or butter substitutes). I had some more carrot and sweet potato soup for dinner. I think I will have soup more often.

I have been collecting recipes and I’m looking forward to testing them out and of course sharing with you guys. 🙂

Life’s good 🙂

November 15, 2010 - Posted by | Healthy Meals | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Excellent! How has switiching to health food impacted your budget? Usually health and organic foods tend to be a little more expensive. What has your experience been like? Also do you now do 2 meals, I.e. One for you and another for the rest of the family?

    Comment by cooldestiny | November 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Well, I’ve only just started to make these changes but I don’t anticipate a huge dent in the food budget. I mean, we were already buying 2 different milk – 3% for the kids and hubby, 0%[fat free] for me. Also, I have given up or reduced drastically my consumption of certain foods like cereals and granola bars. I won’t go all the way and buy organic fruits and vegetables though. If they are local or on sale, I will buy.

      I’ve found that certain things are cheaper at the health food store. Stevia is $9.99 [100 packets] at the grocery store, but at the health food store it costs $7.69 for the same quantity. I’m actually considering making my own bread 🙂 The wheels in my head are spinning! The health food store has all the ingredients.

      And when it comes to cooking meals, sometimes I do cook something separate for myself. I always cook rice, but rarely eat it. I usually have a salad, pasta or quinoa. But occasionally we will all have the same thing – like with the Polenta meal. The good thing is, foods like quinoa holds up well in the fridge so I cook a nice batch to serve me 3 days or so. The kids are at a fussy stage so they don’t always eat what we are having. Wait… sometimes I’m cooking 3 different meals! Damn, I’m good! 🙂

      Comment by Lyn | November 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. I can’t read this blog anymore, those gourmet meal you cooking are driving me crazy! [belly rumbles] 🙂

    Comment by StunnerJ | November 17, 2010 | Reply

    • Stunner – You ain’t seen nothin yet! 😛

      Comment by Lyn | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Ok … gotcha!
    Stunner, you always talking about food!

    Comment by CoolDestiny | November 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

