Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

A Green Challenge

This past week, I decided to see how often I could put something “green” in my meals.  We all know that as far as salads go, the darker green vegetables are the better choice. I really had fun doing this. They were so simple to prepare, and I really enjoyed most of them. Well – all except one :-)…

Okay (laughing a little bit), so I tried this soup called Spinach and Avocado soup. It’s basically spinach, avocado, salt, garlic, and some freshly squeezed lemon juice, blended in water. I opted to use vegetable broth. You just blend and enjoy.  A lovely looking vegetarian meal. Lets just say I prefer to eat the ingredients separately and not in the form of a soup. It’s very healthy though. I had it with some plain crackers.

 

Spinach and Avocado Soup

I wanted a spinach and avocado salad and decided to add grilled pear and pomegranate to the mix. This was a lot better than the soup. I actually forgot about how great pomegranates are, in terms of their nutritional value. I did remember, however, how much they stained. Luckily, I did some research how to handle and prepare a pomegranate.

 

Spinach, Avocado, Pear, Pomegranate Salad

I also tried a salmon dish called Lemon Herbed Salmon and it was amazing! I served it with mashed sweet potatoes and asparagus. A very simple and tasty meal that I’m sure I’ll have again and again. I even made my own breadcrumbs! I didn’t have any but I did have some whole wheat bread 🙂 Please try this recipe!

 

Lemon Herbed Salmon, Sweet Potato Mash & Asparagus

That’s all for now, but more to come. Have a splendid week! Choose all your meals wisely and don’t forget to treat yourself every now and again!

Ciao!

December 7, 2010 - Posted by | Healthy Meals, Weight Loss | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. What a soup green! I don’t know if I could manage it 🙂 … and I don’t eat avacado. It does look healthy, for sure. I’m loving the Lemon Herb Salmon. All I can say is you better be cooking all these nice things for me when I come there 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Comment by CoolDestiny | December 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yes, it was quite different for me. But I ate it like I loved it. Won’t be making it again. I will have to search for a similar soup that I like and can actually enjoy! Girl! The salmon was awesome. I had breadcrumbs left over so I put it in the freezer for the next time. Easy does it! When you get here, I’m thinking all we will do is chat and eat, go to the grocery store and do it all over again! Can’t wait! We need the men to babysit tho… I’m just sayin.

    Comment by Lyn | December 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

