Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

A Green Challenge Pt.2

Here are some more meals from my green challenge. Oh so tasty!

One morning I woke up and looked for a hearty breakfast and I decided to try a frittata! I never tried it before but based on my reading, its like a fluffy omelette. Fair enough! I used 2 eggs, spinach, garlic, onions, green onion, chopped mushrooms, tomatoes, almond milk, salt and pepper to taste. I cooked on the stove top first, then when the sides were set, I added some mozzarella cheese, then put the pan in oven and broiled until the top was set, and the cheese nicely browned.

 

Frittata - on the stove!

I think maybe I should have added more milk and whisked the eggs a little bit more. This really looked like an omelette 🙂 But it tasted great so I enjoyed it! Next!

 

Frittata - Spinach, Green Onion, Mushroom

 

I love curried everything. I prepared curried chicken for my family but instead of using potatoes, I replaced it with lentils. I thought I would try something a little different. For my own portion, I took some lentils, carrots and gravy and placed them in a saucepan. I added some spinach – just long enough to wilt and to bring out that lovely green colour. Then I served it over a serving of curried chicken breast. VoilĂ !

 

Curried Chicken, Lentils, Carrots & Spinach

 

Last but not least, something else I just threw together. I made minced turkey for the family and removed a small serving for myself. I then boiled some whole wheat spaghetti, drained it, added some light Laughing Cow cheese and mixed it until even. I added chopped asparagus, and spinach followed by the turkey then I gently tossed it all together. I sprinkled some parmesan cheese and this is what I got. Makes me hungry just looking at it.

 

Whole Wheat Spaghetti, Minced Turkey, Spinach, Asparagus

 

It may look like a large serving, but don’t be fooled by the pictures. My serving bowls are smaller than a traditional dinner plate. I specifically use them for portion control purposes. I think when a plate or a bowl looks like its full, it helps you to feel full at the end of your meal. Maybe that’s just me. But it works!

Have a great day!

December 9, 2010 - Posted by | Healthy Meals, Weight Loss | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Oh wow! That Fritata looks so yummy. I just bought myself some whole wheat pasta to try it as I continue to make small changes to my dietary preferences. I’ll let you know how that goes. I wish I had more time to experiment cooking new things. I want to try something new for Christmas dinner this year, but not sure yet what. Any suggestions for side dishes? Usually I’ll do a baked macaroni & cheese pie, but I’m thinking of a pasta salad with parmesan, black olives, corn and the like. What do you think?

    Comment by CoolDestiny | December 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Very good! Sometimes, its just the small changes that make all the difference. Please keep me posted. And I hear you about having time. If I were a working professional like yourself, I’d be cooking up a storm on the weekend and freezing stuff to thaw during the week! I know its a challenge!

      In terms of side dishes – is this in addition to rice? I don’t think I’ve done a pasta salad before. What kind of pasta would you be using?

      I too have been looking for side dishes and I try to incorporate some sort of vegetable in it. Although I’m not a fan of olives, here is a recipe that I will be trying soon. If it looks good to you, perhaps you could put a Jamaican twist on it by using spinach or my beloved callalloo…? I will likely use collards or spinach. Check it out: Collard Green Pesto Linguine http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/collard-green-pesto-linguine-recipe/index.html

      Here’s another I want to try: Pineapple Sweet Potatoes http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pineapple-Sweet-Potatoes/Detail.aspx

      Recipes are just guidelines so feel free to substitute based on what you feel would taste good or by what is available to you. Cooking is an art and a blessing! I want to hear about what you end up doing. xoxoxoxo

      Comment by Lyn | December 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

