Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Simplicity, is sometimes all you need…

I did my weekly Monday weigh-in and I’m at a respectable 137lbs. My weight is still fluctuating so I am monitoring myself as I plan my next phase of action. As usual, a good week. A busy week. I didn’t do much cooking but what I did prepare was very simple, colourful and healthy (of course).

I wanted a really simple meal with a lean meat and some veggies. And here it is, while still in the dutch pot and finally, served. Ground pork, Edamame, Tomato and Yellow Sweet Pepper – served on a bed of Basmati Rice. [Red, Gold & Green! :-)] Dinner doesn’t have to be a complicated production. Not often, at least 🙂

 

On the Stove!

 

One night last week, I didn’t feel for any meat. I steamed some veggies in some chicken broth and sprinkled a bit of sea salt over top. I was terrified that I might have tummy troubles but I’m sure I should be fine if I have broccoli once a week or so. Fingers crossed! It was delish!

 

Steamed Veg - Carrots, Broccoli, Cauliflower, String Beans, Edamame

 

Last but not least, I was doing my weekly reading of some of my favourite blogs (food and photography related). I was looking at some cute, tempting little cupcakes (oh so tempting) – my son saw them and decided that he wanted cupcakes. After being nagged, poked and pulled 🙂 I decided to figure out what cupcakes I was going to make and how I was going to make it healthy. I looked for a recipe that had few ingredients. I didn’t need any shortening, a dozen eggs or anything else that was just a bit much. I found a recipe for Chocolate Cream Cheese Cupcakes and made a few modifications. In an effort to avoid using regular white flour, I needed an excuse to use my stash of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour I bought from the health food store recently. I substituted it for the white flour, used Light Cream Cheese and omitted the chocolate chips. (Actually, I forgot to add it – but I’ll make it look like I did it on purpose. THIS TIME). This recipe is a definite keeper. Who knew chocolate and cream cheese went together so well? The cupcakes didn’t last very long. The little fellas didn’t stand a chance.

 

 

Have an amazing week! Give thanks for all the food that is available to us… because we actually have a choice!

Ciao!

 

 

December 14, 2010 - Posted by | food, Healthy Meals, Weight Loss | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

