Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Temporary Challenges

Last week, a turn of events had me searching for solutions. Generally, I spend much of my time thinking about what to prepare over the next few days while at home with my family. When I got a phone call to start a temporary assignment the next day… I was thinking about what I was going to do about food! I suppose, in days gone by, typically I would have been thinking about my wardrobe. But my primary goal has me thinking way beyond what I wear. Besides, I already had what I needed to step back into the work place comfortably and confidently.

This weekend, I had to take a few shortcuts since I had no time to prepare meals ahead of my employment start date. I picked up some granola bars, nuts, fruits – healthy food items to keep on hand. I got some items for my freezer too. Dinner might get tricky until I get myself sorted out. What’s funny to me is, I will probably get into the swing of things just before my contract ends in approximately 6 weeks. Due to the nature of the assignment, it may end before or after the estimated end date. We’ll see what happens.

The great thing about this opportunity, is that I get a chance to see what its like as a working mother of two! What a welcome change and challenge! I have to adjust some things in terms of the family schedule. The major thing is –  I need to be in bed a lot earlier than what I’ve been used to over the past year. My body is already reacting to the change in routine. All weekend – pain from head to toe! And this is after only 2 days at work! Damn you, Chronic Pain! I will remain positive and pray that the pain subsides to allow me to function and take care of myself and my family. After all, I am the CEO of my household 🙂

Here are some meals from last week. I found use of my Wok that I forgot I had! Wow! I used it twice and I think it’s absolutely fabulous. I just love to see food cooking in it! First up – Honey Chicken Stir Fry.

 

Honey Chicken Stir Fry

 

Voila!

 

Honey Chicken Stir Fry with Basmati Rice

 

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a while now and it was well worth the wait! Zesty Chicken Meatballs served with Spinach Pesto Linguine. The original pesto recipe that I looked at was made with Collard Greens, olives and pecans. I didn’t have any at hand but I didn’t let that stop me (plus I don’t care for olives). I used Spinach and Pumpkin Seeds. I’m no pesto fanatic but it was pretty good!

 

Zesty Chicken Meatballs With Spinach Pesto Linguine

 

Have a wonderful week!

Ciao

December 20, 2010 - Posted by | food, Healthy Meals, Weight Loss | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. You are officially my hero! These dishes look scrumptious!

    Comment by CoolDestiny | December 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

