Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

Home at last…

So my contact assignment is finally over. The 6 week contract ended early due to the absolute proficiency of the temps dedicated to the cause. I for one was relieved that it was over. My body had a bad reaction to sitting in the same position for 5 hours every day, and eventually shut down after almost 4 weeks. I’m still hurting but at least I’m on the mend. My kids were sick at the start of the new year, and of course they love me so much that they shared their new year cold with me 🙂 So there has been a lot going on! But my head is in the right place so I’m back in blog land.

In my previous blog entry , I mentioned that packing sandwiches was the way to go. Now that I’m home again, I think I rather enjoy sandwiches! So I’ve been thinking about various combinations that make for a healthy and tasty lunch meal. Here are a few that were successful experiments. I love the whole wheat hamburger flatbread – 170 calories, 2g fat and 5g fibre!

I haven’t been able to eat plain tuna for some time now. I don’t know, it’s just so blah and you have to add a ton of stuff to get a decent flavour and texture to it. Anyway, a few years back I was introduced to Spicy Thai Tuna so I thought I’d add a dash of light mayo, a slice of fat-free cheese and some romaine lettuce and here’s the result:

 

Spicy Thai Tuna Sandwich with Cheese & Romaine Lettuce

 

 

I’ve been wanting to expand my vegetarian options. I swear, I’m probably going to be a vegetarian later on in my life. There are so many vegan alternatives, I doubt I’d miss meat. I made myself a Black Bean Burger and I was surprised at how GREAT it tasted. I added some fresh spinach, fat free cheese, a few slices of avocado and some light mayo on the bread. Come on, that bread would have been so DRY. I omitted butter – for balance :-).  Since it was a burger, I had it with some ketchup. It was DE-LISH. Would you even guess that this burger was meatless???

Black Bean Burger with fat-free cheese, spinach and avocado

 

Looking at that burger makes me hungry.

Ciao!

January 19, 2011 - Posted by | Healthy Meals, Weight Loss | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hhhhm … interesting … a vegan … 🙂 Those sandwiches do look tasty. And, I LOVE SANDWICHES.

    Comment by CoolDestiny | January 19, 2011 | Reply

    • They were so goooooood… I need to learn how to make wraps now… 🙂

      Comment by Lyn | January 19, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

