Lyn's Journey to 8

A Weight Loss Adventure

I didn’t burn the Risotto

It has been an interesting few weeks. Sometimes I get really bored with chicken. I find that I’m always looking for something else to please my figure watching palate.  So I tried boring fish… again! This time, a little different.

You know how when you hear how difficult and challenging a dish is, you might shy away from it? Well this happened to me with Risotto. I’ve been wanting to try it for a very long time. It’s a rice dish cooked in broth, cheese and whatever else that you might think compliment it. I read how easy it is to ruin this dish if you’re not super careful. I cooked mine with chicken broth, white wine, green peas and a little cheese for good measure. I hate ruining food. It really makes me upset whenever I burn something to a cinder. Not that it happens often, but anything is possible with two little ones tugging at your feet 🙂 I didn’t burn the Risotto and I’m very happy about it. I served it with Salmon. I have no idea if I did it properly, or if it tasted “right”. All I know is, I didn’t burn it. The Arborio rice was cooked, and it tasted great!

 

Baked Salmon & Green Pea Risotto

I also found Panko Bread Crumbs (Japanese cuisine) which is usually found in health food stores, to adorn some haddock that I roasted. I liked the crispness without having to actually fry it. I think I’ll experiment with it some more. I roasted it beside some Carrots, Butternut Squash, Egg Plant and… Zucchini!

 

Roasted Haddock with Roasted Roots

 

Roasted Root Veggies and Roasted Haddock

With a little additional exercise, I’ve noticed a little progress and the numbers on the scale are behaving themselves once again. Such an unruly little gadget at times, that scale! More on some goodies I purchased, in the next post.

Ciao!

March 15, 2011 - Posted by | food, Healthy Meals, Weight Loss | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Very nice! Those dishes look do delicious … Hope you’re prepared to cook for me when you come back home 🙂 🙂 🙂
    I too hate it when food spoils during preparation, especially if it is something you’ve done many times before. Happy to know the scale is behaving too!!

    Comment by cooldestiny | March 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Cooking in Jamaica (or outside of my own kitchen, for that matter) is never the same! LOL! How about you just come here? And yes, the scale isn’t broken afterall. Good thing I didn’t chuck it through the window 🙂

      Comment by Lyn | March 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. Apparently risotto is hard to make. Seems so on the show Hell’s Kitchen. LOL. You did a great job.

    I love the simplicity of the second photo. Very geometric.

    Comment by Trudy | March 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Ha! Thanks Trudy. My arm is still sore from all that stirring. Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

      Comment by Lyn | March 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

